Minister profile

    Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
    Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities.

    Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane was born in the Limpopo Province.

    During the 1980s, she was an active member of the United Democratic Front and served in various structures of the Mass Democratic Movement and the African National Congress’ (ANC) underground structures.

    After the unbanning of the ANC in 1990, she served the party in various structures, including the ANC Women's League (ANCWL) and actively participated in the prelaunch of the ANCWL in the country.

    She served as the Chairperson of the ANCWL in Limpopo Province and as member of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the organisation from 1992 to 1995.

    Ms Nkoana-Mashabane was elected as a Member of Parliament from 1994 to 1995. In 1995, she was appointed High Commissioner to Malaysia, servicing the Philippines and Brunei (1995 to 1999).

    From 1999 to 2005, she was appointed as High Commissioner to India, servicing Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Maldives and Nepal.

    She was a member of the National Executive Committee (NEC) and the NWC of the ANCWL, as well as the Deputy Secretary of the ANC in Limpopo Province from 2005 to 2008.

    In 2005, she was appointed Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Limpopo’s Department of Local Government and Housing. During her term, the department won the National Govan Mbeki Housing Award for “Best Provincial Housing Department in South Africa” (2008).

    Ms Nkoana-Mashabane was named Newsmaker of the Year for 2008 by the Polokwane Chamber of Business. The department also won seven other awards, including “The department doing the most to accelerate service delivery”.

    Minister Nkoana-Mashabane was elected as a member of the ANC NEC and NWC in 2007. She was also the Provincial Convener of the Progressive Women’s Movement in Limpopo in 2007.

    On 11 May 2009, she was appointed as the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation during which she served as a member on the 2010 Soccer World Cup Local Organising Committee.

    She presided over the historic United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP17/CMP7) in Durban as President and was a key lobbyist for South Africa’s inclusion as a member of the Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa (BRICS) formation in 2011.

    She was sworn in for a second term as Minister of International Relations and Cooperation on 26 May 2014.

    She was appointed as Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform on the 26 February 2018- May 2019.

    On the 30th May 2019, she was sworn in as Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities


    Contact Information
    • GBV Command Centre: 0800 428 428 / *120*7867# from any cell phone
    • Persons with disabilities, SMS ‘help’ to 31531
    • Women Abuse Helpline: 0800 150 150
    • Child line: 0800 055 555
    • SAPS Crime Stop: 0860 10111 / SMS Crime Line: 32211
    • GBVF-related service complaints (SAPS): 0800 333 177
    • National AIDS Helpline: 0800 012 322
    • National Human Trafficking Helpline: 0800 222 777
    • Suicide Helpline: 0800 567 567
    • SA Coronavirus Hotline: 0800 029 999
    • NYDA: 0871586345 / 5738
    Other Links
    © 2022 Department of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Suntech Consulting